Annual Meeting 2013

[PHOTO]Iowa NSF EPSCoR Annual Meeting 2013July 22-23, 2013
University of Northern Iowa, Maucker Union

Iowa EPSCoR’s Annual All-Hands Meeting was held July 22-23, 2013 at the University of Northern Iowa’s Maucker Union in Cedar Falls, Iowa, for all Iowa EPSCoR faculty, staff and students.

The meeting shared our progress, highlighted scientific and broader impact accomplishments, and featured student research posters. The meeting also included some outstanding speakers.


Presentations (PDFs)


Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds provided a keynote address showcasing Iowa’s accomplishments in STEM and workforce development.

Panel Speakers

Robin Hebeger, the Academic Outreach Manager for DuPont Pioneer; Rob Denson, President of Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC); Lisa Lorenzen, Executive Director of the Iowa State University Research Foundation (ISURF); Dr. Craig Just of the University of Iowa; and Dr. Brent Shanks of Iowa State University participated on a panel about working with industry. Learn more

Faculty Professional Development Workshop

A faculty professional development workshop, Working Diversity: Putting Diversity into Practice in Teaching and Learning took place July 22 from 12:30-5 p.m. as a highlight of the meeting.  The program featured Wolff-Michael Roth, Landsdowne Professor of Applied Cognitive Science from the University of Victoria, British Columbia and was facilitated by Katherine Richardson Bruna, Associate Professor in the School of Education at Iowa State University. Learn more

Student Poster Display

The student poster competition provided an opportunity for students to showcase their current or completed research and earn a cash prize. See the winners

Student Lunch and Mentoring Workshop on Career Preparedness

The workshop was held on July 23, 2013. Panelists at this workshop were Brent Shanks, Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering and Director of NSF’s Engineering Research Center for Biorenewable Chemicals (CBiRC) at Iowa State University; Cynthia Jenks, scientist for Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University; Michael Dahlstrom, Assistant Professor for the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State University; Kavita Dhanwada, Associate Dean at University of Northern Iowa; and Dan Reed, Vice President for Research and Economic Development at the University of Iowa.